Making Democracy Work

Citizenship in Action

The League of Women Voters is a nonpartisan political organization encouraging informed and active participation in government. It influences public policy through education and advocacy.
MARK YOUR CALENDAR! Candidate forums are just around the corner. See the complete schedule on the Candidate Forums page and plan to attend the one in your county. (We can no longer accept questions for the forums.)

UPDATE on Early Voting for the 2016 General Election

Early voting begins on October 20, 2016. Brunswick County, New Hanover County and Pender County have adopted plans for early voting that have been approved by the State Board of Elections. See their websites for detailed plans:

IMPORTANT INFORMATION! LWV-LCF Members, It is possible that sometime during this election you may be asked about our position on the first woman running for President on a major party ticket. 

Your answer as an individual may be whatever your feelings dictate. However. if you are responding to a question about the League's position, the document attached contains guidelines issued by LWV-US.

LWV-US Talking Points for 2016 

If you are asked to make an official statement, it would be appropriate to refer the questioner to Sheila Fellerath, our President, or Gail Bromley, our Voter Services Chair.